Womens Bible Cafe™

Study. Connect. Grow.

Jennifer Rothschild

God is Just Not Fair, Book Review

By | Book Reviews | No Comments

God is Just Not Fair, Finding Hope When Life Doesn’t Make Sense
by Jennifer Rothschild

Jennifer Rothschild tackles the hard questions in her book, God is Just Not Fair, and it’s a beautifully vulnerable and powerful read.  Blind at the age of 15, she’s no stranger to struggles and the need to overcome.  But at age 40, she faced a bout of depression that challenged her faith in a new way.  So she writes about doubting God–His existence, His presence, and His love– from a personal and Scriptural perspective and tells about how God walked her through that season of a new kind of darkness.Godisnotfair

The book is divided into six main parts, each covering a different question like: Are you fair, do you err, do you hear prayer, do you care, are you aware, and are you there?  Each section is further divided into short, easy-to-read chapters.

In the tradition of David, Asaph, Job, Habakkuk and others in Scripture, she is willing to be honest about how life is hard sometimes and it’s difficult to have that faith and trust God despite the circumstances.  It’s not easy to cling to the truth of God’s Word.  But the title of the book itself is powerful.  No, God isn’t “fair,” not in the way we usually mean that.  We think that means that God has to treat us all the same.  After all, if God were “Fair,” we’d receive the punishment and judgment we really deserve instead of His amazing grace.  Instead of being “fair,” God is “Just.”  He is right and true and always brings beauty out of the dustiest pile of ashes.

She covered many of the most-beloved and well-worn Biblical accounts in this book, but even the long-term Christians will probably learn something new.  I did!

One of my favorite sections of the book was her story of being the guest speaker at a church that taught that everyone who has faith gets healed, and Christians are all blessed and happy all the time and if they aren’t, something is wrong with them.  She spoke the truth they didn’t want to hear, but that Jesus Himself told us, “In this world, you will have trouble…but take heart, I have overcome the world.”

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Fingerprints of God Online Bible Study Week 6

By | Fingerprints of God | 20 Comments

Welcome back to the Womens Bible Cafe as we complete our Fingerprints of God bible study by Jennifer Rothschild. We’ve finished reading all six weeks and our study ends today as we examine how we’re shaped by God’s hand. We looked at many scripture verses this week- more than 60 in just one week! If the study went too fast for you then take some time over the summer and look back at the scripture verses. Find a few favorites, write them down and memorize them. Plant them into your heart.

Our lesson this week started with a personal testimony of Jennifer saying “I resented being characterized by my blindness because my blindness does not define me. I embrace my blindness because it refines me. God has permitted this hardship in my life.” These powerful words caused me to examine my own “labels” and how I need to keep them in alignment with God’s will. While my nephew has been diabetic since he was 2 years old, I know he wants to be defined for his achievements in skateboarding at 12 years old. His illness does not define Noah, his personal interests and activities do.

As women we can choose to define ourselves with these labels- rape, promiscuity, addictions, abortions, affairs, abuse, mother of special needs child, wife of abusive husband, cancer survivor. In reality, the only label we should wear is Daughter of the King. You are an heiress in Christ, and as such, you will go through trials. Being His daughter does not guarantee a risk free, happy and perfect life on earth. It guarantees eternal life and purpose as you walk inside God’s will. Jennifer asks “What are you willing to accept in your life to be a living miracle?” My reply: God’s will for me.

We learned about the four identities called flippant fatalist, frail fainter, faithful follower, and fruitful finisher. At the end of the lesson Jennifer invites us to be a “canvas for His glory.” Never think that you are so small or too broken for His purpose. If you surrender your life to God then He will reveal you as is masterpiece.

My version of Hebrews 12:7- Christine endures difficult relationships, for through it the LORD is visible and present- and He sees her and is always near.

Prayer Requests

Our Prayer Wall is the place to reach out with your prayer needs and praise reports. Please visit the page and pray for those people who are asking for you to lift them up in prayer.

Homework For Next Week

Group Discussion- answer one or as many questions as you like by posting a comment below

  1. How do you experience God’s comfort during a refining fire? (page 90 )
  2. Share your own version of Hebrews12:7 from page 96 in the book.
  3. What are you willing to accept in your life to be a living miracle?
  4. Are you a flippant fatalist, frail fainter, faithful follower or fruitful finisher?
  5. Would you recommend this study for a friend? Why or why not?


25 Scripture Verses About Pride

Fingerprints of God Online Bible Study Week 5

By | Fingerprints of God | 23 Comments

Welcome back to womens online bible study as we study Fingerprints of God by Jennifer Rothschild. We’ve finished reading week five and we have one week of study remaining. This week we learned about the hand that guide us. We started the week exploring the concept of darkness and light as it relates to God. Jennifer presented us with some great scripture verses along with common cliches for dark and light. It was an interesting and fun method of learning!

Next we took a quick look at Jonah the reluctant prophet and the consequences of not following God’s will. On page 76 in the book we completed a chart of action words comparing the story of Jonah with our story related to God. You may have written  “God said for Jonah to go to Nineveah, Jonah ran away, God sent a storm, Jonah was thrown overboard and God sent a fish to swallow him for three days.” Jonah was given a second chance to follow God’s command as the story continues. In your own life, you may have written “God wants my heart, I sinned, God punishes, I’m complacent, God shows mercy.” Jennifer reminds us that our story ends with mercy.

As we completed our study this week we learned from Jennifer that “Jonah’s rebellion, Manassehs’ rejection and Nebuchadnezzer’s pride fling them into darkness.” Knowing this, you are encouraged to examine your own history and see if there are any areas of a prideful past still lingering inside your heart. We learned the best cure for pride is humility.


Prayer Requests

Our Prayer Wall is the place to reach out with your prayer needs and praise reports. Please visit the page and pray for those people who are asking for you to lift them up in prayer.

Homework For Next Week

  • Read Week Six  in your book.
  • Watch  Video Session Six (optional due to cost) The video answers are in the back of your book in the “leaders guide”
  • Optional: Join us  on Monday’s at 6:00 PST/ 9:00 EST in a Facebook “live” chat hosted by Lakecia and some of your small group leaders. This is optional because of the many time zones and not everyone uses Facebook. To join the group –click here.
  • Check in with your Small Group Leader.

Group Discussion- answer one or as many questions as you like by posting a comment below

  1. How can we identify when we’re walking in the light or walking in the darkness?
  2. How would you advise someone in this bible study to practice humility? What are some examples from your own life or something you’ve seen in others?
  3. How can you sprinkle light into areas of darkness?
  4. Share a favorite moment from this week’s lesson.


Non-denominational Online Bible Study From Work or Home! Join Today!